Ipswich
Estimated residents · 2025
Explore the people, places and local economies that make up our region.
Population estimates at 30 June 2025, as published in the regional data report. Figures are provisional.
Estimated residents · 2025
Estimated residents · 2025
Estimated residents · 2025
Estimated residents · 2025
Source: ABS, Regional population, various editions
Find the information that matters to you. Browse a topic or search the report, then open a table to compare our region with Queensland. Reporting periods vary; each table retains its own dates, units and sources.
Latest report imported . 5 tables were added or updated compared with the previous published report. Labels identify changes to figures, reporting periods and source notes.
6 of 51 tables · Education & skills
| Family day care | Kindergartens | Long day care | School aged care | Limited hours care | Total(a) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — number — | ||||||
| RDAIWM region | 12 | 37 | 152 | 72 | 0 | 273 |
| Ipswich (C) | 8 | 23 | 118 | 49 | 0 | 198 |
| Lockyer Valley (R) | 0 | 3 | 14 | 5 | 0 | 22 |
| Scenic Rim (R) | 3 | 6 | 13 | 9 | 0 | 31 |
| Somerset (R) | 1 | 5 | 7 | 9 | 0 | 22 |
| Queensland | 83 | 469 | 1,976 | 823 | 13 | 3,366 |
(a) Total includes Other service types (for example Occasional care).
Source: Department of Education
| Domain | Summary | Children assessed | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Physical health and wellbeing | Social competence | Emotional maturity | Language and cognitive | Communication skills and general knowledge | One or more domains | Two or more domains | ||
| — per cent — | — per cent— | number | ||||||
| RDAIWM region | 12.8 | 12.8 | 12.6 | 9.7 | 9.9 | 27.6 | 15.1 | 4,815 |
| Ipswich (C) | 13.1 | 13.3 | 13.0 | 10.3 | 10.7 | 28.2 | 15.7 | 3,645 |
| Lockyer Valley (R) | 11.0 | 10.5 | 11.8 | 6.3 | 8.8 | 26.1 | 12.6 | 477 |
| Scenic Rim (R) | 9.0 | 11.4 | 12.4 | 8.0 | 3.4 | 23.4 | 11.7 | 410 |
| Somerset (R) | 17.9 | 12.3 | 8.5 | 9.5 | 11.9 | 28.5 | 15.2 | 283 |
| Queensland | 11.4 | 11.6 | 11.5 | 8.4 | 8.9 | 25.4 | 13.6 | 57,956 |
Note: To preserve confidtentiality, some regions have had results suppressed.
Source: Commonwealth Department of Education
| Did not go to school, or Year 8 or below | Year 9 or 10 or equivalent | Year 11 or 12 or equivalent | Total(a) | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| number | % | number | % | number | % | number | |
| RDAIWM region | 14,165 | 5.6 | 73,016 | 28.9 | 147,361 | 58.3 | 252,699 |
| Ipswich (C) | 8,369 | 5.0 | 44,281 | 26.5 | 103,436 | 61.8 | 167,247 |
| Lockyer Valley (R) | 2,417 | 7.6 | 11,056 | 34.7 | 15,903 | 49.9 | 31,849 |
| Scenic Rim (R) | 1,994 | 5.9 | 10,543 | 31.0 | 18,623 | 54.8 | 33,980 |
| Somerset (R) | 1,385 | 7.1 | 7,136 | 36.4 | 9,399 | 47.9 | 19,623 |
| Queensland | 178,101 | 4.4 | 989,350 | 24.6 | 2,554,330 | 63.6 | 4,017,211 |
(a) Includes highest year of schooling not stated.
Source: ABS, Census of Population and Housing, 2021, General Community Profile - G16
| Level of education | Persons with a qualification(d) | Total persons | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor degree or higher(b) | Advanced diploma or diploma | Certificate(c) | |||||||
| number | % | number | % | number | % | number | % | number | |
| RDAIWM region | 38,559 | 14.6 | 24,539 | 9.3 | 67,739 | 25.6 | 153,914 | 58.1 | 264,726 |
| Ipswich (C) | 27,225 | 15.5 | 16,815 | 9.6 | 45,158 | 25.7 | 103,378 | 58.9 | 175,559 |
| Lockyer Valley (R) | 3,902 | 11.7 | 2,611 | 7.8 | 8,476 | 25.5 | 18,132 | 54.5 | 33,276 |
| Scenic Rim (R) | 5,312 | 15.0 | 3,447 | 9.7 | 8,710 | 24.6 | 21,050 | 59.4 | 35,432 |
| Somerset (R) | 2,120 | 10.4 | 1,666 | 8.1 | 5,395 | 26.4 | 11,354 | 55.5 | 20,459 |
| Queensland | 918,468 | 21.9 | 395,615 | 9.4 | 927,894 | 22.1 | 2,618,666 | 62.5 | 4,191,812 |
(a) Includes persons aged 15 years and over with a qualification within the scope of the Australian Standard Classification of Education.
(b) Includes bachelor degree, graduate diploma, graduate certificate and postgraduate degree.
(c) Includes Certificate, I, II, III and IV and Certificates not further defined responses.
(d) Includes inadequately described and not stated level of education responses.
Source: ABS, Census of Population and Housing, 2021, General Community Profile - G43 and G49
| Sex / age | RDAIWM region | Queensland | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| With NSQ(a) | Without NSQ | With NSQ(a) | Without NSQ | |||||
| number | % | number | % | number | % | number | % | |
| Males | ||||||||
| 15–24 years | 7,448 | 34.7 | 14,030 | 65.3 | 112,872 | 34.9 | 210,536 | 65.1 |
| 25–44 years | 30,628 | 68.1 | 14,376 | 31.9 | 506,604 | 74.7 | 171,850 | 25.3 |
| 45–64 years | 24,791 | 62.6 | 14,833 | 37.4 | 434,730 | 69.2 | 193,271 | 30.8 |
| 65 years and over | 12,505 | 53.5 | 10,870 | 46.5 | 242,361 | 58.5 | 172,130 | 41.5 |
| Total | 75,377 | 58.2 | 54,104 | 41.8 | 1,296,559 | 63.4 | 747,795 | 36.6 |
| Females | ||||||||
| 15–24 years | 8,585 | 40.6 | 12,580 | 59.4 | 126,061 | 40.2 | 187,779 | 59.8 |
| 25–44 years | 35,135 | 73.7 | 12,534 | 26.3 | 561,754 | 79.0 | 149,323 | 21.0 |
| 45–64 years | 25,031 | 60.6 | 16,283 | 39.4 | 436,404 | 66.0 | 225,018 | 34.0 |
| 65 years and over | 9,797 | 39.0 | 15,334 | 61.0 | 197,876 | 42.9 | 263,238 | 57.1 |
| Total | 78,539 | 58.1 | 56,740 | 41.9 | 1,322,101 | 61.6 | 825,352 | 38.4 |
| Persons | ||||||||
| 15–24 years | 16,034 | 37.6 | 26,597 | 62.4 | 238,938 | 37.5 | 398,307 | 62.5 |
| 25–44 years | 65,752 | 71.0 | 26,910 | 29.0 | 1,068,360 | 76.9 | 321,181 | 23.1 |
| 45–64 years | 49,807 | 61.5 | 31,125 | 38.5 | 871,131 | 67.6 | 418,300 | 32.4 |
| 65 years and over | 22,306 | 46.0 | 26,187 | 54.0 | 440,235 | 50.3 | 435,368 | 49.7 |
| Total | 153,914 | 58.1 | 110,804 | 41.9 | 2,618,666 | 62.5 | 1,573,154 | 37.5 |
(a) Includes inadequately described and not stated level of education responses.
Source: ABS, Census of Population and Housing, 2021, General Community Profile - G01 and G49
| Field of study | RDAIWM region | Queensland | Specialisation ratio | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| number | % | number | % | number | |
| Natural and Physical Sciences | 2,723 | 1.8 | 63,861 | 2.4 | 0.73 |
| Information Technology | 3,447 | 2.2 | 64,750 | 2.5 | 0.91 |
| Engineering and Related Technologies | 24,342 | 15.8 | 380,136 | 14.5 | 1.09 |
| Architecture and Building | 8,289 | 5.4 | 151,067 | 5.8 | 0.93 |
| Agriculture Environmental and Related Studies | 3,486 | 2.3 | 49,434 | 1.9 | 1.20 |
| Health | 15,090 | 9.8 | 285,611 | 10.9 | 0.90 |
| Education | 11,845 | 7.7 | 205,309 | 7.8 | 0.98 |
| Management and Commerce | 26,170 | 17.0 | 480,526 | 18.4 | 0.93 |
| Society and Culture | 19,721 | 12.8 | 309,683 | 11.8 | 1.08 |
| Creative Arts | 3,835 | 2.5 | 86,519 | 3.3 | 0.75 |
| Food Hospitality and Personal Services | 9,538 | 6.2 | 146,167 | 5.6 | 1.11 |
| Mixed Field Programmes | 367 | 0.2 | 4,427 | 0.2 | 1.41 |
| Total(a) | 153,914 | 100.0 | 2,618,666 | 100.0 | 1.00 |
(a) Includes inadequately described and not stated responses.
Source: ABS, Census of Population and Housing, 2021, General Community Profile - G50 and unpublished data